The Elder Scrolls Online Factions Guide and Information

tamriel_politics_mapESO will have 3-faction PvP, a rarity in MMO gamespace. The alliances are each comprised of 3 races of Tamriel. Players will be able to fight players from the other 2 factions, making potential strategies for competing against other players more interesting and challenging. This may also help to eliminate (or alleviate) the stasis or stalemates that can occur with only 2 sides fighting. Players will also have the chance to join various guilds throughout Tamriel like the Mage’s Guild, Fighter’s Guild, Dark Brotherhood (Dark Brotherhood will not be available at launch & will be added sometime after) and many, many more. As with the offline games, there are some groups & guilds you cannot join without completing certain actions or quests during the game.         Player vs. Player (PvP) will be in the central province of Cyrodiil.

The Three ESO Factions: Choose Your Alliance!

The Aldmeri Dominion                                                 The Daggerfall Covenant                    The Ebonheart Pact

ESO Factions

Elder Scrolls Online Factions:

History & Politics – In The Second Era, an arcane explosion happened in the Imperial City which caused many mages to die or become insane. The Daedra (demons) started to break through into Tamriel from their own plane of existence, Oblivion. As the chaos continued all around them, many factions united in the face of danger. Without an Emperor, many different groups decided to attempt to take the throne themselves. Each has their own agenda…

Aldmeri DominionThe Aldmeri Dominion controls the provinces of Summerset Isles, Valenwood and Elsweyr from their capital Elden Root. The Altmer are the dominant race within this eso faction, with strong magics, long lifespans and a superiority complex. Along with the Wood Elves (Bosmer) and Feline Khajiit, they are led by the Altmer Queen Ayrenn. Primarily isolationists, they see themselves as protecting the continent from further disaster, and view themselves as simply more fit to rule than any other group.

Daggerfall Covenant

The Daggerfall Covenant unites the High Rock, Orsinium and Hammerfell regions, with the capital Wayrest located on Iliac Bay. The fierce Orcs and skilled Redguard help support the strong magics of the Bretons; High King Emeric leads the alliance and seeks to return the empire to trade and prosperity. They feel that the true emperor will be a member of the Daggerfall Covenant Faction, to bring peace and prosperity to Tamriel.

Ebonheart PactThe Ebonheart Pact holds sway throughout the provinces of Skyrim, Morrowind and Black Marsh. The capital Mournhold is located in Morrowind, but the dominant race of the Ebonheart Pact eso faction are the Nordic warriors. In spite of this, High King Jorunn works closely with his Dark Elven and Argonian allies through a great council known as the Great Moot. Having protected Tamriel in the past from the Second Akaviri Invasion, the members of this alliance view themselves as having earned the right to rule and protect the Empire.

Character Builds | Leveling Guides