The Elder Scrolls Online Second Era Tamriel Map

Elder Scrolls Online 2nd Era Map

The Elder Scrolls Online takes place on the fantasy world of Nirn roughly 1000 years before the events in the game Skyrim. It is set on the continent of Tamriel: a large landmass divided into nine provinces, each home to a different playable race and its own unique geography & natural features. It is a high fantasy realm with elements of open-ended exploration, quests, magic, monsters, dungeons, adventures, spells, crafting, stealth and many different factions vying for power (some of which a player will be able to join).

The Elder Scrolls Online Game Synopsis:

Welcome To TamrielTamriel is in turmoil due to the lack of a ruler. Races from different provinces of Tamriel have formed alliances to defend their provinces and some wish to expand their territories. The Imperials form their own alliance with the Tharn family and Mannimarco to stabilize Tamriel and return it to Imperial Rule. However, Mannimarco is secretly working with the Daedric Prince Molag Bal with deceptive plans to rule all of Tamriel themselves. You will play through these events as an adventurer whose soul was stolen by Molag Bal. Fight to get your Soul back and bring order back to Tamriel. After reaching your level cap and preventing Molag Bal’s plans to take Tamriel, the Emperor’s seat is still open. This is the time for you and your faction to take the Imperial City!

tamriel heightmapTaking the Imperial City will be difficult to say the least. The entire city will be overrun with Daedra sent by Molag Bal. If your faction takes the city, the player that contributed the most during the entire war will become the new Emperor of Tamriel. Details on contributions have not yet been released. Cyrodiil, the central province of Tamriel, will be the province where players in groups large and small will battle each other in the struggle to take the Imperial City.

ESO Main Story Arc Part 1 – Soul Shriven in Coldharbour

The Provinces:

The 9 provinces for ESO have been designed to be easily recognizable to players of previous single-player Elder Scrolls games such as Oblivion, Skyrim, Morrowind and Hammerfell. Some of these provinces will be added as playable areas after release. Surrounded by these 9 provinces is Cyrodiil, the central province of Tamriel, home of The Imperial Race and the region of The Elder Scrolls Online where groups, or guilds of players will clash and battle other players (PvP). All fighting for the right and glory of claiming The Ruby Throne.

Ruled By Aldmeri Dominion

summerset_isle_map The Summerset Isles are under the control of Queen Ayrenn, leader of the Aldmeri Dominion. It is the homeland of the High Elves, known as the Altmer. The original settlers of the continent (and creators of its common language), the Altmer consider themselves to be more sophisticated than the other races of Tamriel, and have a strong natural proficiency with magic.

Elsweyr Elsweyr is also under control of the Aldmeri Dominion, and is the land of the Khajiit, a cat-like race. Intelligent and proud, they change moods quickly and express themselves directly. Stealthy, good with blades and agile, these warriors tend to be the strong arm of the Dominion. Mane is their spiritual leader.

Valenwood Valenwood province is the wooded territory of the Bosmer, or Wood Elves of the forest. The capital city of the Aldmeri Dominion, Elden Root, is located here. Agile and stealthy, they are deadly with bows and masters of stealth, thieving and scouting skills. They revere nature and their forest, and have a good sense of humor.

Ruled By Daggerfall Covenant

high-rock High Rock is the home province of the Bretons, and is part of the Daggerfall Covenant, led by King Emeric. The capital, Wayrest, is located here. Part of the province was granted to the orcs to form Orsinium. The Bretons have some Elven blood, and tend to focus equally well on tasks that require martial, magic or diplomatic prowess.

Hammerfell Hammerfell is the realm of the Redguard and is under the control of the Daggerfall Covenant. They are a dignified race of desert warriors and very athletic, with a martial culture that is instilled in them at a very young age. They are very healthy, with a resistance to poisons and high levels of endurance.

orsinium Orsinium City is located in High Rock. It was granted to the Orcs to restore when the Daggerfall Covenant was established. The Orsimer (Orcs) are considered to be somewhat barbaric and uncivilized by the other races of Tamriel, but have an unmatched reputation for both their ferocity in martial combat and their skill with all types of Blacksmithing. They tend to be large, well-muscled and greenish-toned, with a large underbite.

Ruled By Ebonheart Pact

Skyrim_map Skyrim is the region dominated by the Nords, and is under the control of the Ebonheart Pact, led byJorunn the Skald-King. They are a strong, hearty warrior people from a cold climate, and are quick to laugh, drink, fight or lead a charge. They prefer melee over ranged and spell combat, with axe, sword or mace.

morrowind Morrowind is home to the Dunmer or Dark Elves, and the capital city of the Ebonheart Pact, Mournhold. It is a rugged, inhospitable land mostly dominated by huge volcanoes. Well Known to be very proud but also extremely ruthless, they are equally talented with destructive magics, stealth and weapons.

black-marsh Black Marsh is under the control of the Ebonheart Pact and is the homeland of the Argonians. A reptilian race of lizard-like humanoids, they live in the marshes and can breathe underwater. They possess a resistance to poisons, and are equally proficient with both weapons and magic.

Best Collection of Elder Scrolls Online Guides:

The Only ESO Guides You’ll Ever Need:

ESO Mastery Guides are the most complete strategy guides for ESO!

  • By Far The Best Builds Guides for ALL Classes, Races & Playstyles
  • Leveling Strategy Guides for all 3 factions
  • In-depth Crafting Guides for all ESO Professions
  • Best Guide & Tips for Maximum Gold Making